Metea Valley High School

Indian Prairie School District 204


Health Department Earns 2nd Blue Ribbon

Reported by on 3/11/18

The Metea Valley Health Education department has earned their 2nd IAHPERD Blue Ribbon Award for excellence in the areas of curriculum design, curriculum presentation, technology, assessment, and student engagement. By earning this honor for the 2nd time, Metea Valley is now of 4 High Schools in the state of Illinois to earn Blue Ribbon Awards in Physical Education and Health Education. Each Blue Ribbon award is valid for 5 years and this is the 2nd time Metea Valley has applied. The application process took about 1 year in which the department had to ensure the curriculum and assessments where in line with state standards while also completing a program self evaluation to determine if the curriculum fit the best practices as outlined by IAHPERD. After the self-evaluation, IAHPERD determined that the Health department qualified for a site visit. During the site visit, the committee interviewed administration, staff, students, and teachers while also seeing our program in action during the course of a school day. After the site visit, the committee recommended to the IAHPERD board that we should be considered a Blue Ribbon School.


Edit This Story

eSchoolPlus Destiny Naviance Helpful Links for Students

Contact Info

Principal: Dr. Darrell Echols

1801 North Eola Road (map)
Aurora, IL 60502

Office Phone:

Office Fax:

Attendance Hotline:
630.375.5900 (then press 3)

Is there something you'd like to tell us? We'd love to hear it!


Follow MVHS and IPSD 204 on Twitter to get the latest school and district information.

©Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204, serving Aurora, Naperville, Bolingbrook, & Plainfield, IL. Login